Reason Freely

Browsing titles on Amazon…

Posted in Uncategorized by reasonfreely on May 14, 2010

So I was browsing suggested freethinker books on Amazon when I came across the following excellent review of a book that looks pretty good. (The Amazon AI seems to think skeptics only really care about religion, so bear with me.) The book is a review of the world’s eight largest religions, and it focuses on their differences, rather than their similarities. The reviewer agrees with the author’s premise, but disagrees with the title (“God is Not One”) claiming that there’s but one “Godhead” and it’s man’s imperfection that gives us these highly conflicted descriptions of Him.

This post is the apogee of “McBlog,” because I’m describing and linking you to my comment on a stranger’s review of another stranger’s book. Keep in mind I didn’t read the book, and I agree with the author and reviewer.

But the reviewer simply didn’t follow the last logical step…

I’m echoing Dawkins’ “one god more atheist than you” point, from a roundabout direction.  This is an example of the kind of reflective, other-focused conversation I advocated in a previous post and will discuss more next week.

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

